Autumn . . . for now ;-)`

Hi, friends! I wrote a long Thanksgiving post a few days ago and somehow it’s not in my drafts and I never published it (I was waiting for photos to add and my phone wouldn’t upload for some reason). Sorry . . .

Thanksgiving was hectic and at first quite frustrating, but turned out ok. I stayed with my Aunty and Mum went to a big family gathering at my sister and brother in law’s place. My younger cousin’s girlfriend came for dinner with us, as both my cousins were working up north over the holiday.

20131013-161309.jpg

The pumpkin pie filling being mixed up.

20131013-161521.jpg

Pies in the oven.

IMG_4031[1]

The stuffed turkey breast we never ate. My sister sent cooked turkey, stuffing and mashed potato, so I gave this to a friend who was in a bad crash a week or so ago and had her car totalled when it was rear-ended and pushed into the back of the pickup truck ahead of her. So all was good in the end. She got one of the pies, too, as my sister kindly sent apple crisp home with Mum (along with loads more leftovers!). It was so thoughtful of her and I’m still enjoying stuffing sandwiches with cranberry sauce for supper every night. I know . . . bread on bread . . . but very yum! and still my favourite treat from the two holiday meals.

IMG_4040[1]

The lovely flower arrangement that my cousin’s girlfriend brought for our table.

I think that’s all the photos I had time for that day; it was quite hectic.

On the crafty side, do you remember the Fair Isle style bag that will end up being a knitting bag? It’s coming along nicely, but I still haven’t finished the handles. They are only moss stitch (seed stitch to my English friends ‘k1, p1, then on the way back, knit in the purl stitches and purl in the knit stitches) Not too exciting, and I may have mentioned I often get hung up on finishing projects . . . but not on starting them!

20130916-233218.jpg

The Fair Isle style bag, which is now well past this point, but I don’t have a current photo.

IMG_4012[1]

IMG_4013[1]

What I started on the last day of September . . . a project I’ve had in mind for several years. Way back when I was a manager at a Lewiscraft store (a Canadian craft store chain that went out of business around 2005), I was buying Astra yarn by the twos. I was knitting soft teddy bears using doubled yarn and had a fair bit left on each skein at the end. So I began planning to make myself a Fair Isle style cardigan. I bought a dozen skeins of the hot pink colour to use as background and give the whole thing a warm look. I’m not too fond of acrylics, but wool was dear, not available in many colours and also much too thick. This acrylic is not as fine as I’d like, either, but it’s good for learning on. I call this my ‘barn and garden’ sweater . . .

IMG_4063[1]

I’m a row or two past this now and the sweater is over a foot long already. I’m planning on a long cardi, past my hips for warmth and a sleeker style. It should look good over jeans, my black pants and my long black A-line-ish skirt. So I have a bit to go yet. But I’m enjoying it very much. In this picture you can see a bit that looks like a country dirt road, running vertically through the pattern. This, in case you don’t know, is a Norwegian ‘steek’. When you knit with wool, it works even better, as acrylic is really a bit slippery for this; but I need to learn and best not on very expensive materials. When the sweater is done to the shoulders, I will have two more steeks, one for each armhole. I will stitch up, then down, right through a row on either side of the centre. This stabilizes the work. Next I will be brave and get out the scissors and, yes, cut right up the middle!!

Then I will fold back the sides of the steek, pick up some stitches and knit the button bands. On the side steeks I will pick up stitches and knit the sleeves. Fun, eh?

x IMG_4066[1]

Here is a photo of the latest part of the pattern, lying on the book of motifs I borrowed from the library (and I really think I’ll have to buy myself a copy!) It’s not as clear as I’d like, but you get the idea. The horizontal line through the centre of this motif hardly shows in the photo. It’s a bright orange yarn with occasional stitches of bright blue. The blue looked like a good contrast in the skein, but in the knitting is pretty much invisible. So I’m going to have to go over those stitches with a better colour choice later, using duplicate stitch.

x IMG_4067[1]

Even in this close-up you can’t see the line, really.

20130913-235600.jpg

This is the book I’m using. I’m choosing motifs as I go along, so this will be a real sampler sweater.

Well, have to go. If I have time later, I may have a few more words, but those will come in a separate post.

23 thoughts on “Autumn . . . for now ;-)`

    • They were good! One of my favourites, too. I also like pumpkin smoothies this time of year. Yummm
      I forget whose blog led me to yours, but I really enjoyed reading some of your posts. Welcome to this world, too. ~ Linne

  1. That is an amazing piece of artwork that you’re knitting, Linne. I’m sorry about the car accident, but at least they came away with a very nicely prepared meal! Thanksgiving is still a month away down here, but I’m anxious for it. It’s such a wonderful holiday. ❤

    • Thanks, Stacy! It just keeps on growing . . . more pictures soon. Yes, I was happy to share. We had more than enough leftovers in any case, thanks to my sister. It is a wonderful holiday, isn’t it? I look forward to hosting a dinner again some year, with candles and autumn arrangements and just a big feast in general. Lots of fun! I’m glad ours is in October, though; yours is too close to Christmas for me . . . but it goes with the harvest, I think.

    • Fair Isle is easy; two colours and count up to six or seven at most.

      Pumpkin pie is easy, too. I’ve made it from scratch, but not often. I generally use the canned (tinned) stuff. Mum likes the brand that adds the spices, but we both add extra spice anyway. All you do is beat up a couple of eggs, add evaporated milk, beat more, add the pumpkin and spices, beat more, then into the pie shell and then the oven. About an hour or less to bake. I only make it at Thanksgiving (October 12 this year) and for Christmas, so I also have whipped cream with it. Failing that, I pour over a bit of evapirated milk or add ice cream. Let me know if you want a recipe, ok?

      • That all sounds easy enough, I actually have a recipe I have written down but never tried it yet. We have always used pumpkin as a vegetable and I have trouble getting past that fr some reason but i do want to try it because it must be nice if it’s such a tradition there and so popular.

        I did a little Fair Isle when my kids were small but I think I lack the concentration needed for it nowadays lol

      • Did you know you can use that same recipe and substitute squash for the pumpkin? It’s true. Think of zucchini as a veggie in your salad or stir-fry; doesn’t stop you from putting it in the zucchini bread . . .

        Mum and I both add more spice than called for; I taste the raw filling until I’m happy. Just don’t add too much in the beginning 😉
        We like cinnamon, cloves, allspice, nutmeg, ginger, mace (I think that’s all of them; pretty much what I like in apple pies and crisps, too) and a bit of good vanilla extract.

        You can make the filling and bake it like a pudding in a lightly greased ceramic container, too. Anything ovenproof, really.

        I don’t think I could have concentrated on Fair Isle when my boys were young; they were pretty active most of the time (unless reading or making stuff, of course). But I’m with my Aunty for hours at a time and she’s still not letting me do much of the housework, so I need something in my hands. I’ve had this project in mind for nearly 10 years now (with this yarn) and longer (since I saw pictures of them for the first time), so the time seemed right. Now I’m debating a couple of ways to add sleeves, as I don’t like the look of the traditional style. We’ll see . . . I do like to complicate things at times . . .

  2. The jury is still out on me ever attempting fairisle (terrifying frankly) but I did find a most interesting tool that I am going to get Steve to make for me…a knitting loom. I want to make socks in the round and knitting them, again, frankly terifies me with more than 2 needles are involved and this round chunk of wood with pegs in promises to be the sock heaven equivalent of finger knitting. What’s not to love? I get Steve to make me something I can pass on to my kids, I get to make socks, I don’t have to do the tango with 4 needles a win-win situation for everyone! :). You are too clever for your boots with that fairisle and DON’T try telling me it is easy. It bloody well isn’t. Just bask in your glory of being able to work it out and do it and let the rest of us mere knit and perlers warm our hands in your glory 😉

    • I will help you with the Fair Isle, I promise! 😉

      Love the sound of that knitting loom; sounds like a bigger version of my four-nail spool knitter . . . they ARE easy to use, and only one crochet hook to keep track of. 😉

      • I had a look at that site; cool looms, aren’t they? round ones could be used for tuques (Canadian knitted pointy cap, if you didn’t know already) 😉
        Also tubular scarves. Or . . . sorry, can’t help it . . . if you included a steek, you could use a round one to make a sweater like mine . . . good thing I live on the other side, isn’t it? 😉

      • Knitted pointy caps? Now THAT is something I would be interested in making :). I could see myself in a knitted pointy cap (and most of my family whom I would gift them to 😉 )

      • Easy to make! Can be knitted/crocheted flat and then the seam sewn up, or knitted in the round, so one of the sage’s knitting looms would work perfectly. For extra warmth, knit a tube twice as long, fold one end back inside the other to the ribbing. For a fancier Peruvian style cap (great for kids and for very cold weather) earflaps can be added by picking up stitches inside, above the ribbing; add ‘strings’ when done tge flaps.

      • If I had 5 needles to contend with I would be stuffed. I am a “Problem tensioner” and my socks would be strange with puckered patches and loose stitches all in one ;). Best I stick with a knitting loom methinks!

      • Four in the hand make a square; you knit with the fifth. At the end of that needle, you have an empty (now 5th) to knit the next side with. But I hear you; that old-timey stuff ain’t for everyone. And you are doing stuff on the computer that boggles me . . .

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

