Voila!! (part the second) the Mystery revealed . . .

   IMG_5078[2]  IMG_5079[1]

Left: you can see what I mean by ‘teensy ties’, can’t you? This was taken through Mum’s lit magnifying glass on a floor stand. On the right, one of the ties about to be undone. There is a trick to this; you have to begin at the proper end of the thread or it’s very hard to undo. Once you start in the right place, it goes much faster. Altogether, it took me three hours to remove all the threads.

IMG_5081[1]  IMG_5083[1]

Left: here you can see the ball of threads already removed; I was about a third of the way through. On the right, a close-up showing some ties remaining, others undone.

 IMG_5088[1]  IMG_5090[1]

Left, the final tied end (I thought; later I found one more very small one) Right, the final ball of removed threads. They must be cotton; they didn’t take the dye. I’m saving them to use in another tie-dye project some day soon. Waste not, want not!  😉

IMG_5093[1] IMG_5089[1]

The photo on the right is closest of them all to an accurate depiction of the colour. On the left, the project with the ties undone, but the stitching around the edge still in place.

IMG_5095[1]  IMG_5097[1]

The project spread out and anchored on top of Mum’s bed. It’s almost the size of the bed, even with the crinkled texture from being tied so tightly. One picture is the front, the other is the back; I can’t remember now which is which, but I think the front is on the left.

IMG_5098[1]  IMG_5100[1]

Left, a close-up of the back; Right, a close-up of the front.

Have you guessed what it is yet? No? I could wait and tell you tomorrow, but you’ve all been very good and practised Anticipation very studiously, so I’ll tell you now:

It’s a Bandhani Shawl. The silk piece is hand-tied in India, then dyed by me. The ties give it a very deep texture, so it must be dry-cleaned. If it is washed, it will still be pretty, but will then be quite flat. The texture also makes it quite stretchy (that’s why you can see various items holding down the corners. It’s opened up a bit  with the stretching. I think that when worn, it will cling in a very nice way to the wearer. Next time I get the chance, I’ll see if I can get a friend to model it for me.

Next up: a dye lot with the lovely blue colour (and who knows how THAT will turn out?). I have more of the scarves to dye, plus another shawl. This time, I won’t dye the entire shawl one colour; instead, I plan to paint it with different colours. That should be quite pretty, judging by how this one turned out. Stay tuned . . . and thanks for  your patience!

I have more colours, too, and I do love mixing my own, so you never know what will show up here after the blues . . . isn’t this fun? I’m just dyeing to do more . . .   🙂

IMG_4436[1]

32 thoughts on “Voila!! (part the second) the Mystery revealed . . .

    • Oh, thanks, Jess. Interesting, isn’t it? The colour is lovely in real life; I’m not sure how well it translates on everyone’s monitors (they are all a bit different when it comes to colours); on Mum’s the closest photo is the one showing the edge ruffle fairly close-up.

    • Thanks, Stacy. Patience is a two-edged sword, though. I’ve been way too patient in much of my life and while I’ve learned a lot and read even more, I haven’t accomplished anywhere near what I would have liked. But maybe next time . . . It’s all learning, in the end. Well, and then practising what we learn. 🙂

    • Thanks, Robbie. It isn’t what I was aiming for, but I do like it. That’s one of the appealing things about colour mixing; you can never be sure just exactly what you will get . . . I love surprises like that.

  1. so pretty… you said that the silk comes pretied is that correct… do you just order them on line? Then do all the ” color ” work at home.. I think this would be a great gift. I also have a niece who is doing fiber arts in college who may want to looking into this for a project.

    • Yes, that’s right. The style is called ‘Bandhani’. Tell your niece to go to Maiwa and look under Artisan Supplies. They have lots! They are in Vancouver, BC, on Granville Island, which is a real artist centre. Let me know if she has any trouble finding it.

  2. So gorgeous!! How amazing that the tying is done in India – I did not know such a thing existed! I agree with Narfie7 they will sell like hot cakes!! I will put an order in for a green/blue one please – thank you very much kindly 🙂

    • I hadn’t known about them, either. My supplier supports a lot of small artisans and artisan groups in India, which is something I like to support in turn. I hope you two are right . . . if not, as I said, my Christmas will be covered! Let’s see how the green turns out; I haven’t mixed it yet 🙂

    • Thanks a lot! See, that’s what you get after passing Anticipation 101; you get to take Patience 201. 🙂 I am pretty laid-back by nature, which is well suited to that sort of thing. But I think laid-back only goes so far . . . we need driven achievers, too. Or nothing would ever change. So I live vicariously, watching all you achievers and meanwhile NOT passing Achievement 101 😉 Good thing we need all sorts, eh? (mmmm, Allsorts! I love liquorice, for some reason . . .) So not ‘better’, my friend, just different . . .

      • I can sometimes be bothered to aim for Achievement 101 but most of the time I am content with Bumbling around aimlessly humming happy tunes 101 which I am VERY good at and have almost achieved my personal Nirvana in 😉

      • I adore anyone who has mastered ‘Bumbling around aimlessly humming happy tunes 101’! Yes, that can lead to personal Nirvana . . . 🙂

      • It can when one is ALLOWED to bumble and exterior forces aren’t being exerted by say “dogs” to play with them, feed them, walk them, generally amuse them 😉

      • Yes, older dogs are best for ‘bumbling’ along, aren’t they? Although I do love the puppy and young dog energy . . . like babies, but they don’t seem to have those ‘teenaged’ years. Whenever I got ‘baby fever’ I would remind myself that they are all pre-teens . . . 😉

  3. Wow! I have never heard of that kind of shawl and it makes amazing sense to create something that someone else can customise to their preferences! Are you going to sell these in your Etsy store Linnie? I reckon they will sell like hot cakes! Lovely things and as everyone knows…the 70’s are back “IN” (“Man” 😉 ) Gorgeous stuff 🙂 Can’t wait to see a blue one (if you are dying one blue that is 😉 )

    • Thank you!! Yes, that’s the plan, Narfie; I had a lot of anxiety in case it didn’t look like much; I really couldn’t visualise the results. It’s about time the 70s were back! We can skip the 80s though . . . maybe just repeat the 70s twice . . .
      The next one will have the dye applied to it (not immersed), so I can use several colours. then it will be steamed to set the colours. I figure if I hate it, the thing can always be washed to flatten, then cut into smaller pieces for use scrapbooking, gift wrap, whatever.

      I’m hoping that blue dyes into a nice shade. It’s impossible to tell from the dye bath. What I thought would be a deep dark purple has turned into a very attractive wine colour . . .

      • Lovely 🙂 I can’t wait to see what you do with it. At least someone it doing something out there in the blogosphere…I am going to join up 2 sets of 8 knitted squares to make slippers I found online. I will post the results if they look any good…if they don’t “forgedaboudit!” 😉

      • Oh, the slippers sound fascinating. Show them anyhow, eh? And remember, I am ‘doing something’ indoors from necessity and winter; you are ‘doing something’ in the gardens and the kitchen . . . soon the seasons will flip and you should have more time to crochet. Check out some of the amazing work on that Spanish site I re-blogged today . . . worth it for the colours alone. But I do love the afghans, too.

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

