20 Reasons to use Turmeric in your Diet

Whether or not you use turmeric already, you may find these reasons to do so quite interesting. I sure did. ~ Linne

Back to Basics

currypowder_banner

Here are 20 reasons why you should have turmeric in your diet!

1. It is a natural antiseptic and antibacterial agent, useful in disinfecting cuts and burns.

2. When combined with cauliflower, it has shown to prevent prostate cancer and stop the growth of existing prostate cancer.

3. Prevented breast cancer from spreading to the lungs in mice.

4. May prevent melanoma and cause existing melanoma cells to commit suicide.

5. Reduces the risk of childhood leukemia.

6. Is a natural liver detoxifier.

7. May prevent and slow the progression of Alzheimer’s disease by removing amyloyd plaque buildup in the brain.

8. May prevent metastases from occurring in many different forms of cancer.

9. It is a potent natural anti-inflammatory that works as well as many anti-inflammatory drugs but without the side effects.

10. Has shown promise in slowing the progression…

View original post 141 more words

8 thoughts on “20 Reasons to use Turmeric in your Diet

  1. Holy MOLY Linnie! Most of my RSS Feed blog posts today are yours! 😉 “7 in one day” eh? A bit like that tailor and the flies. You had best watch out or you will have the giants following you around 😉 (if you haven’t read that fairy story forgedaboudit…narf7 is just MAD as a hatter 😉 ) I love the flavour of turmeric and always use it when I make dhal and in curries and other Indian cooking. Vegans tend to start out with Indian dishes as many of them are predominately vegan thanks to their dietary restrictions and so I am well versed in the tastiness of turmeric and it’s good to read that it has healthy connotations. Cheers for this linky 🙂

    • Yes, and none of them mine, sadly . . . But I thought at least I would get through some of my feedreader and you lot would know I’m still breating and taking up space . . . Oh, I remember that one . . . I love faery tales; grew up before the telly made books and stories almost a thing of the past.

      You are very welcome; I love to pass on information; someone always seems to find it handy. I’m trying to use the turmeric in my smoothies more, but so often I’m in a hurry and working by rote and then I just forget. Being healthy6 takes a fair bit of time and attention, doesn’t it?

      • It certainly does and you and I both have NO time at the moment 🙂 Hugs from a busy narf who has to get creative with Illustrator (Adobe) this week and learn how to use it to create things for an assessment 🙂

      • I’m doing my best to eat well by preparing much of my lunch and supper veg upstairs the night before. Also my breakfast smoothie. And now I remember what I missed in my kefir smoothie this morning . . . the turmeric! 😦 Next time, I guess. I mostly have citrus based ones and the turmeric seems to go best with the kefir, which Diligent Dorcas keeps cranking out; I’m getting about a cup a day and saving it for a few days, then making ‘cheese’, which I mix with some bought flavoured cream cheese and use on cooked veg and on the morning bagel.

        I haven’t used Illustrator much, but I think I still have an older version on one of my older computers. One day, maybe. I hope you have fun with it; I loved PageMaker and Photoshop; all that desktop publishing stuff that I used to use. I expect it’s all different these days . . .

      • Not much different to be honest and my daughters only use the original photoshop and swear its the best 😉

      • You! Back again! I only went to post a short post and look at the comments that sprouted up! My word!!!! Sereously, I love knowing that you are online when I am (same goes for all of the Villagers out there).
        I swear by the original, too, but my version is likely not much use now; I’m sadly out of date tech-wise and not caring all that much, either. sigh

      • Thanks you very much! We used to hang up a large flag Mum has, but no idea where it has gotten to now . . .
        Do you have an Aussie Day or something like? I suppose it would be in December or nearby, eh?

Thanks for stopping by my blog! I look forward to reading your comments. ~ Linne

